Orna Ni-Chionna to leave Royal Mail

Royal Mail plc has announced that  Orna Ni-Chionna, Senior Independent Director and Non-Executive Director of the company, will be leaving after nine years on the board.

Simon Thompson will take over from Orna as Senior Independent Director and Chair of the Remuneration Committee with effect from the AGM on 18 July 2019 until 1 October.

Sarah Hogg has been appointed as Non-Executive Director of the Company and Senior Independent Director, with effect from 1 October 2019.

Michael Findlay takes over from Keith Williams as Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee with immediate effect.

Orna Ni-Chionna said: “It has been a great privilege to serve on the Board of Royal Mail for nine years, during which time we moved into public ownership and started to address the challenges of competing in this digital age. I am very pleased that Sarah will be joining the Board as Senior Independent Director and I extend to Keith Williams, the Board and the Company my very best wishes as the journey of transformation continues.”

Sarah Hogg said: “I am delighted to be joining the Board of Royal Mail. I look forward to working with Keith Williams, the Board and Management as Royal Mail embarks on its ‘turnaround and grow’ strategy in the UK and delivers its five-year Group strategic plan.”

Keith Williams said: “I am delighted that Sarah Hogg is joining our Board. Sarah brings with her a wealth of experience from both private and public sectors across a range of areas including strategy, public policy and governance.”

“I would also like to thank Orna for her nine years of service to the Company. She has played a key role on the Board throughout that time, not least on extensive shareholder engagement in recent months. I and all my colleagues have appreciated her insight, her people skills and her commitment to the Company. It has been a great pleasure to work alongside her and we wish her well for the future.”

Sarah Hogg has extensive business and government experience. She is currently Senior Non-Executive Director of the Financial Conduct Authority. She was previously Chair of 3i Group plc and has been a Non-Executive Director of a number of other companies including BG Group plc. She was also Lead Independent Director of HM Treasury and Chair of the Financial Reporting Council. Sarah was Head of the Prime Minister’s Policy Unit under John Major, and previously Economics Editor of a number of leading newspapers, including The Times, The Telegraph and The Economist. She was created a life peer in 1995 and sits in the House of Lords as a crossbencher.

Source: Post and Parcel

Orna Ni-Chionna to leave Royal Mail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.