Record squad of Bibby Distribution drivers named as finalists for respected awards

Bibby Distribution has unprecedented representation on the shortlist for this year’s Microlise HGV Driver of The Year Awards, with four drivers singled out for excellence.

Mark Field is one of three drivers highlighted in the ‘Short Distance’ category, Dale Coppin and Philip Starkie have both been selected for the ‘HGV Hero’ accolade, and John Males is in line for the Lifetime Achievement award.

The Microlise awards programme has an eligible pool of more than 210,000 drivers and the shortlist was drawn up after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel who reviewed anonymous submissions.

Bibby Distribution’s HR Director, Dave Haworth, said: “The Microlise awards are in their fifth year and are respected across the industry. To have four of our drivers shortlisted is an incredible achievement for them as individuals, and a huge honour for our business.

“These four guys have earned this recognition, and it is very well deserved. We are very grateful for the service they provide to our customers, the standards they set for our business, and the model they set for our colleagues and for drivers across the UK. We just couldn’t be more proud!”

The panel of award judges included Chief Executive of the Road Haulage Association, Richard Burnett; Editor of Motor Transport, Steve Hobson; the recently-retired Traffic Commissioner for Scotland, Joan Aitken; Non-executive Director and Board Advisor London Ambulance Service and Transport Focus, Theo De Pencier; National Officer from Unite The Union, Matt Draper; and Executive Director of Microlise, Bob Harbey.

Joan Aitken said: “The quality of the entries was outstanding and a true credit to all those nominated. It was a privilege to take part in recognising the best HGV drivers who consistently perform their role with a degree of skill and customer focus that is truly inspirational.”

All shortlisted drivers – a total of 24 chosen across eight categories – will enjoy a Porsche track day courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK, and winners will be revealed at a black tie dinner at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry on Tuesday 14 May 2019.

Source: Uk Haulier

Record squad of Bibby Distribution drivers named as finalists for respected awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.